January 2022 on vAMSYS - Development Update

Lukas Jankauskas

• vAMSYS Platform Administrator

Hello everyone! 

I apologise in advance - this may be dense, poorly spaced and in questionable grammar - living up to vAMSYS Standard 🙂

You must know the phrase - it can be done quickly, cheaply or well - pick 2. For almost 8 years, ever since I took vAMSYS, the code was written quickly and cheaply - I was under immense pressure to add features and functionality really quickly - back then vAMSYS replaced a somewhat fully featured airline management system for a shell of it. As I mentioned in the past - foundations I took over were strong - in fact, there are functions which remain unchanged 8 years later and were carried over verbatim from vAMSYS 0.5 to 1, 1.5, 2 and 3.

As you know - I am not a web developer - this is not something I do at my job or had previous training or experience with- circumstances led me to learn the tools and gain the skills needed to keep vAMSYS and vRYR going. However - over the last 8 years I have picked up quite a bit - more importantly - the gained knowledge it's what has been helping me go over the code, make improvements and eradicate code deficit where it was not too time consuming, not to mention the value I was able to create at my real job thanks to everything I learned with vAMSYS. 

PHP world does not stop - nor does Laravel and all the amazing tools you can pair it with - since I restarted work on V4ifying vAMSYS, I got to grips and became familiar with tools which have been a game changer - Laragon for local development environment, Filament for the tables and forms you see in Orwell and VDS, Livewire which ties it all together and Tailwind which makes it all look a bit more pleasing than plain HTML.